Dear School,

180 days in a school year × 13 years of education
=2,160 days
2,160 days × 6.5 hours / day
=14,040 hours of their lives they spent in school.

Dear School,

Do you know the influence you have over my child’s life?

Do you realize how many hours of the day you have with my child?

Do you recognize the joy on my child’s face when they finally understand what you were teaching?

Do you watch my child like I would?

Do you step in when there are fights between friends?

Do you recognize that my child is still JUST A CHILD?

Do you know “I”, the parent, am not the enemy when I email with a question about homework?

Do you know that there are sometimes TEARS over homework?

Do you know that when “you are short”  with my child, they think you are MAD at them?

Do you take out your “bad day” on my child?

Do you know we teach our children to respect you, and if they are not respectful WE WANT TO KNOW!

Do you know that when you ask about how their soccer game was, or how the horse riding lessons are going, they think you “ACTUALLY CARE” ABOUT THEIR LIVES?

image

Do you know we pray for you in the mornings before school?

Do you know that when you give the smallest bit of encouragement, my child thinks you LIKE them?

Do you know that when you smile at my child in the hall and REMEMBER THEIR NAME, they feel recognized and LOVED BY YOU?

Do you know that WE KNOW you are tired?

Do you know that WE KNOW you just spent hours of your night planning your lessons for the next day?

Do you know that WE KNOW you are trying your best to “get through to” all the kids your class?

Do you know that WE KNOW you wanted to watch the game on tv, or read a book to YOUR OWN CHILD, but you were grading MY CHILD’S paper on wolves?

Do you know that WE KNOW you love our child?

Do you know WE LOVE YOU?

Leave a Reply

