The PERFECT mom

Prayer Journal entry a few months after T was born….

“Lord, she won’t stop crying.  I can’t make it stop.  Please make it stop.  Please help her to sleep.  Please let me get rest.  Lord, Make me a better wife and mom.”

….a few months later….

“Lord, I am SO not a good mom.  I have no idea what I’m doing.  Am I feeding her enough?  Am I feeding her too much?  Lord, make me a better wife and mom.”

Prayer Journal entry a few months after S was born….

“Lord, I am losing my mind.  Now I have 2 babies!  I love them with all my heart, but I am so scared that I’m going to turn them into little monsters.  I don’t think I can do this.  Lord, Make me a better wife and mom.”

Prayer journal entry THIS MONTH….

“Lord, thank you for my family.  Thank you for the blessings they are to me.  Thank you for the joy, tears, and laughs motherhood brings.  Thank you for never leaving my side during the fearful moments and doubting moments.  Thank you for helping me to become a better wife and mom, and realize that I am not perfect and I don’t have to be.”

What changed?  My focus.  I stopped looking around at MY circumstances, MY fears, MY failures, MY imperfectness, and started looking at HIS LOVE, HIS GIFTS, and HIS PERFECTNESS.  I changed my perspective.  I changed my view.  I looked UP!

The PERFECT mom…she doesn’t exist!  The perfect MOM FOR MY GIRLS….Well, she’s in the mirror staring back.  She’s still growing and learning and changing and praying everyday!

10505461_10204114497692298_8381861440333227654_n

Leave a Reply

