Living the Dream

My mom recently gave me some old school papers and photo albums of mine.  In the box of stuff, I found a paper that I had filled out when I was 8 years old.  At the bottom the paper was the question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”  My answer, written in my 8 year old handwriting, (which ironically still looks as bad to this day) I answered simply, “To be a wife and a mom.”

I always wanted to be wife. As a young girl you watch these movies and think how great it would be to have the love they do in the movies. As I got older, and went through the pain of break ups, I realized love wasn’t a feeling but a commitment.

Of course, I still got “butterflies” the I first saw my hubby walk into church with his grandmother on his arm. He was a friend at first. Helping me with a college project and then after a July 4th firework show he kissed me. It was all over from there! 😉 We dated for over a year and were married before we hit two years together. We learned that to make our marriage work, we needed to compromise, listen, take time for each other (even with having two kids), and realize the other one CAN NOT READ MINDS. We had to talk.

We’ve been married for almost 16 years and still going strong.

My love for him changed when I saw him with the girls.  The tenderness, compassion, understanding and patience that he has, (patience like I have never had) is what made me fall in love even more.

All my life, it’s all I ever really wanted.  I don’t understand “stay at home” moms who say, “I’m just a mom.”
Could there be any more important job? We are rearing children to one day become adults that quite possibly could make a difference in someone’s life! We need to teach them now, as children, to be respectful, kind, and loving. Teach them that although they are small they can still do big things.

I love my life. I love those simple moments of helping my girls with their homework, playing board games, hearing them squeal “Daddy!” when he comes in the door.

I love being a wife.
I love being a mom.

I don’t need to change the world, I just need to make sure the people in my life know they changed mine!
image

Leave a Reply

