Back to the “S” Word!!!!

This was my Facebook status today,  “If you find me in a ball, in the corner of the room, crying my eyes out, it’s o.k.  Just let me be. It’s just that the school book bags are out and packed.”

DSC_0019

I hate school! I hate school more now, as a mom, then I did when I went to school myself. Don’t get me wrong, I love my girls’ school, I love the teachers and the staff, but I hate what school does to us as a family! I hate the schedule. I MISS MY KIDS!!!

Thing is, I KNOW I’m not the only one.  I texted my mom today, “I hate school!”  She texted back, “I know. I did too, and I WAS THE TEACHER!”

We live 25 minutes from our school.  They have to be up at 6:30 a.m., that means bed time has to be early. When they were little, it meant that they were going to bed shortly after dinner! Both my hubby and I work full time. I got to pick them up after school, but the afternoons were filled with homework, dinner prep, and housework. My hubby hardly got to see them during the week. As they grew, obviously, bed time got pushed back, BUT homework increased.

We are not one of those families that has our kids involved in every possible activity. This last school year, was the first year that they were actually involved in extra curricular actives, and even that was only 2 times a month.  THIS year, I have one in elementary and one in Middle School.  My middle schooler is going to play soccer this year.  I just filled in the household calendar for the year.  I had an elementary schedule, a MS schedule, a soccer practice schedule, and soccer game schedule.   I can’t believe how filled the calendar is and we haven’t even started yet!!!!!

IMG_0012IMG_1576

So, as of today, we have 15 days left of summer. I AM FREAKING OUT! I am the biggest crab apple and I’m IRRITATED!!!! We got the supplies out, packed the book bags, and the book bags are by the door ready to go, and I’M MAD ABOUT IT!!!!

Here’s my biggest problem…I have a list of things I wanted to do with the girls this summer and we did NOTHING on it!   I have lists of crafts, games, places to go, and things to see.  Actually one summer, there was moment where T actually said, “Mom, can we just do nothing today!”

I have absolutely no idea what happened to the month of June.  July went by like a breeze in the wind, and here we are today with only 15 days left until we go back to the crazy, hectic, stressful schedule.  My hubby keeps reminding me of all the things we did together and the fun we have had.  I know we did, but I’m NOT READY!  I’m not ready for it to end.

I just feel like school year sucks away time.  It feels like they were just babies in my arms, and now we are starting middle school, and before I know it, it will be high school.

I guess that’s honestly it…the time is slipping away, and that’s what I’m not happy about.

Funny thing is, I DO THIS EVERY YEAR, and every year I seem shocked at how fast summer went.  IMG_1594DSC_0012

Leave a Reply

