Danger in Dry Eyes

DSC_0027

I wrote a letter to my girls, like I have been since the day they were born. I recently wrote a letter to them about crying, and how important it is. I thought I would share part of it with you all. Partly for you to know me better, and partly because I think we all need reminding how important it is! Here is a portion of what I wrote to them.

O.k., so onto the purpose of this letter. This is something that I struggle with now, as a mom, and I want you to hear what I have to say about it, so you will not struggle with it.

If you girls are anything like me, you will be criers. I cry about everything. Tears come easy for me. I used to hate it when I would cry in front of people and would try to hide it. I have since learned that there is no reason to hide it.

I used to be embarrassed by my tears, and how easily they came. I would cry at obvious places like funerals, weddings, at sad or romantic movies, etc. I would fight back tears at church. When I would worship, I would fight back those tears.

When I sing, I think about the words. I don’t sing just to blend in with the crowd. I truly feel the words I am singing, each and every time I sing.

I fought back those tears in church. I didn’t want others think that I was some sinful person who was convicted over my sins, or that I was hiding something sinful in my life. Sometimes I was convicted. We should be convicted, but it was something I was not willing to open myself up to, letting others in that personal part of my life. I was wrong. He sees every tear, and for me, it is like lifting my hands in praise to Him. Others lift their hands, I cry!

Some people see crying as a weakness. Others believe that tears are a waste. Some see tears as manipulation. But, there is Danger in dry eyes. Tearlessness, can cause bacteria growth and viruses. Pent up emotions can cause heart attacks, ulcers, high blood pressure, migraines, and many other things.

As Christ followers, we are use the Bible to seek out the answers to our questions. I felt like yeah, right, what can there be about crying? Then one night, in my devotions, I came to the famous verse, John 11:35-“Jesus wept.” Obviously, God does not think that tears are a waste, or a weakness. My word, he put a whole verse, just for that purpose! Jesus wept. It is not a weak thing to do. Jesus certainly is not weak. He was releasing his feelings. He knew the importance of tears.

Tears are special to God. So special that David asks Him to record each one on His scroll. Tears were used to wash Jesus’ feet. Ecclesiastes chapter 3, is the famous chapter on “a time for everything”. Verse 4 says, “a time to weep, and a time to laugh.”

Please, don’t be afraid to cry. No matter what the reason. Tears are important. Tears help keep you healthy. Tears open you up to people, so they can be a support and help to you. Tears are a form of worship. Use what God has given to you. Use those tears.

Teach the men in your life, tears are not a bad thing. Have them read this!

Leave a Reply

